History of State Championships

The first Equestrian Victorian Interschool Championships were held in 2000 and 1000's of children have enjoyed the event since then. Members of the Victorian Interschool Team, to compete at the National Championships, are selected in Dressage, Jumping, Combined train and Show Horse.

Team Vic 2022 competing in Sydney



Previous hosts of the National Equestrian Interschool Championships:

- 2007 Hosted by QLD
- 2008 Hosted by QLD
- 2009 Hosted by VIC
- 2010 Hosted by NSW
- 2011 Hosted by VIC
- 2012 Hosted by QLD
- 2013 Hosted by WA
- 2014 Hosted by VIC
- 2015 Hosted by VIC
- 2016 Hosted by VIC
- 2017 Hosted by QLD
- 2018 Hosted by VIC
- 2019 Hosted by NSW
- 2020 Not held
- 2021 Not held
- 2022 NSW
- 2023 To be hosted by VIC

Victorian Champion School Award

Originally schools selected four team members. Since 2015 each school is considered as one team regardless of the number of riders. The top four individual riders' scores are considered for the school aggregate score. If a rider has more than one horse, then each is treated as a separate combination for point scoring and only the highest score on one horse, for the rider will count. The rider/horse combination's best four scores count for individual and school team awards across all disciplines at the State Championships. Riders most compete in two or more disciplines to gain team and individual points, in the spirit of all-round horsemanship.

Past School Winners

- 2023 Toorak College
- 2022 Toorak College
- 2021 Kardinia International College
- 2020 Not held
- 2019 Toorak College
- 2018 Kardinia International College
- 2017 Toorak College and Kardinia International College
- 2016 Braemar College
- 2014 Christian College Geelong
- 2013 Christian College Geelong
- 2012 Christian College Geelong
- 2011 Mortlake College/Noorat Primary School (composite team)
- 2010 Yarra Valley Grammar School
- 2009 Mortlake College
- 2008 Mortlake College
- 2007 N/A
- 2006 Toorak College
- 2005 Christian College Geelong
- 2004 Plenty Valley Christian School
- 2003 St Margaret's School & Bairnsdale Secondary College
- 2002 Tintern Girls Grammar
- 2001 Plenty Valley Christian School
- 2000 Tintern Girls Grammar

•

The Nan McArthur Award

This prestigious prize is awarded to the individual rider who gains the most points throughout the Equestrian Victoria week long interschool event held each year. This is awarded to both a Primary and Secondary rider.

The Nan McArthur Award is to honour the best all round riders and to encourage young riders to try many aspects of riding. To be eligible riders must have scores from two or more disciplines. The winners have their names inscribed on the Perpetual Trophy and receive a rug, rosette and prize. Below are the 2023 winners of the Nan McArthur Award.

PAST INDIVIDUAL WINNERS

- 2023 Primary- Joint Abbey Restall, Amelia Maree Secondary- Amelia Tsilfidis
- 2022 Primary- Rosemary Sutherland, Secondary-Tayla Anderson
- 2021 Primary-Xanthe Wade, Secondary-Indi Officer
- 2020 Not Held
- 2019 Primary Rosemary Heagney, Secondary-Isabelle Luxmoore

- 2018 Primary Joint Winners Katya Bathurst and Ava Braniff, Secondary Indi Officer
- 2017 Primary Olivia Gillespie, Secondary- Elizabeth Brand
- 2016 Primary- Harry Luxmoore, Secondary Amy Bachmann
- 2015 Primary-Joint winners Indi Officer and Cohen Wade, Secondary-Edwina Lumsden
- 2014 Primary Abbey Martin, Secondary- Claudia Lowles
- 2013 Primary Georgia May, Secondary- Taylor Desmet
- 2012 Edwina Lumsden
- 2011 Emily Van Sonsbeek
- 2010 Emily Van Sonsbeek
- 2009 Abby Heffer
- 2008 Natasha Moody
- 2007 Morgan Duell
- 2006 Mille Grimshaw
- 2005 Elsie O'Neill
- 2004 Pip Rounds
- 2003 Laura Fenton
- 2002 Sarah Miatt
- 2001 Penny Barnard-Brown
- 2000 Sarah O'Connor







ABOUT NAN MCARTHUR

Nan McArthur was a keen equestrienne who rode during the 1900's. Horses were always a special part of her life, she was even driven to school in a buggy! She competed at many horse events and would go from Show Hack Classes to Hunting Jumping Classes and then onto Games. She won Champion Hunter and Champion Pony at Melbourne Royal for several years. She also hunted with Findon Harriers and the Yarra Glen and Lilydale Hounds.



Nan had a particular love of Clydesdales as her Father, Abraham Kellet, used to breed them and used them for carting for Fosters Brewery, delivering their beer around Melbourne. In her later years she raced horses and her particular passion was steeple chasing. She never missed a Melbourne or Sydney Royal and attended them both right up to the end of her life. She valued the pleasure horses gave to their riders and owners and the wonderful friendships made and times had at equestrian events and competitions. The Nan McArthur Award is given to value and celebrate that spirit.

